Sharing & Publishing


Sharing work with colleagues and different stakeholders is one of the most important aspects of every analyst's job. Query.me allows you to get all of them onto the same page in just a few clicks.

Access the sharing settings of your notebook from the top right of your notebook

1 - Sharing a Notebook

To share a notebook, click on the ๐Ÿ”’Share button at the top right of your notebook's toolbar.

As you can see, you have the option to ย ...

  • publish your notebook to everyone on the internet,
  • share it only with your team, or
  • invite individual users.

1.1 - Publish to the web


To make a Query.me notebook viewable as a site on the web or to share it with people who don't use Query.me, you can turn on Everybody on the internet (can view). Anyone with the link will be able to view it.

For public notebooks, you are currently not able to grant editing rights.

You can identify public notebooks by the ๐ŸŒŽ - icon next to their name.

1.2 - Share with your team


To only share your notebook with fellow workspace members, turn on the
Everybody at (your company) (can view/edit) option.

All users of your workspace (for now also guests) are now able to search and access your Notebook from anywhere in the workspace.

1.3 - Share with individual users


Lastly, you can also share your notebooks with specific users, both already existing ones in your workspace and new ones.

This can come in handy when you only want to share information with specific people in your company or when inviting external stakeholders like customers to your notebooks. ย 

To share a notebook with an individual user, either

  1. select it from the list of existing users or
  2. create a new one by putting in it's email address and clicking
    + Add User.

When you decide to add a new user, this will make them a permanent Guest, User or Admin (depending on your choice) in your workspace (unless you remove them).

Share a notebook with existing users or invite new ones to your workspace

2 - Public notebook duplication

When accessing a shared notebook, it can happen that you are not part of the workspace that the notebook was created in (if it was created by another company, for example).

In this case, Query.me recognizes so and gives you the option to clone the notebook into your own workspace (only the content, not the data of course).

Easily clone shared notebooks from different workspaces into your own

Keep in mind that users of other workspaces have the same option when you share your analyses with them.

3 - View/Edit Permissions

Currently, users can either have Edit or View permissions.

3.1 View


When given view access, a user is only able to consume the content that you produced, not interact with it.
They will be able to select and copy-paste SQL statements from your SQL blocks just like text but will not be able to alter/execute them.

In view mode, a user can only click through your notebook and consume what you have prepared

3.2 Edit


When given edit access, a user will be able to interact with the notebook just like you are when creating it.

They can create, rearrange, edit and delete blocks or pages of your notebook.

4 - Default access permissions

There are currently 3 distinct user roles in Query.me - Admins, regular Users & Guests.

These user roles differ in their default access permissions to your workspace's notebooks.

4.1 - Admins


By default, Admins have full access and editing rights for all notebooks in a workspace.

4.2 - Users


Users can see all notebooks that

  • they created,
  • have been shared with them specifically,
  • have been shared with the whole workspace, or
  • are public to everybody.

4.3 - Guests


Guests can only see notebooks that

  • they have been invited to,
  • are public to everybody, or
  • have been shared with the whole workspace (for now).

Jump to